As I mention in previous post I create this goblin by modifying the 3D mage model. I decided to do it this way as I know that mage model is prepared for animation so I was hoping by keeping some shapes and especially connection on the joints helps in future in an animating goblin + hopefully decrease amount of overlapping material.

imageThe next part was to create hands that will have after legs biggest amount of animation in the game. I follow tutorial on YouTube how to create 3D human hands (as I never before model one). 3 links of video tutorials are provided at the end of this post in the reference list. (Uniform2007, 2009)

Modelling hands turn out well in my opinion, however on later stages I start to regret that I add there some additional shapes. Now I struggle a bit with texturing, I will not mention unvarying which was for me complicated especially on the hands. 

Additionally before I move to modelling hands I fix up a few things that didn’t look for me right like leg rotation as presented on following picture.

image

I wonder if model can be presented in NURMS Toggle… it looks so nice smooth… not so boxy : D 

Once the hand was done I attached it to the goblin.

image

References

Uniform2007. (2009, October 2). 3ds Max Tutorial Modeling Hand 1of 3 [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7TTie6e33E

Uniform2007. (2009, October 2). 3ds Max Tutorial Modeling Hand 2 of 3 [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v2vzfoouWck

Uniform2007. (2009, October 2). 3ds Max Tutorial Modeling Hand 3 of 3 [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHQvpYeUyrA

