I receive request from Toby Meadows to create picture of valley where he will be able to animate sunset. I ask him for reference pictures to know what type of landscapes he visualize.

I receive following list of pictures that I use in photo-manipulation in order to create new composition, with mood and feelings that were captured in those great photographs : )

ref_and_photomanip

Whole composition  do not looks like it have many elements although still with all options of color corrections, set up for day or night + animation of elements it become as pretty complicated and challenging art project.

elements

1st I create scene that had to be 3840 x 2160 pixels

valley_pr01Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v1Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v2

Once that was done I create background that is 3840 x 10800 pixels and move created already scene on top of it.

Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v3 Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v4

I have created for background stars, moon, and sun. I may also later create some clouds.
Bellow you can see Photoshop layers and their color code that is following: Yellow -for animation, Green – parallax or still, Red not for use : )

Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v5

Starry night:

Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v6

Day version:

Sola_bacground_by_endzi-z_03_v8

That was really long progress… Now time to forward my work to Toby and see what magic he will create in After Effects : )

Hope that you like it!

CG Textures used:
Tree: link
Background: link

